Board of Directors

Board of Directors

SERV’s Board of Directors is elected by the Federal Council for a term of four years. The members of the Board of Directors form a committee for insurance business (Insurance Committee, IC), as well as a Finance and Organisation Committee (FOC). 

The Insurance Committee (IC) and the Finance and Organisation Committee (FOC) provide the Board of Directors with reports that help it prepare its resolutions and perform its supervisory functions. Any vested interests of the members of the Board of Directors are published on the website of the Swiss government. The meeting dates of the Board of Directors in 2023 can be found here.

The members of the Board of Directors

Barbara Hayoz, business economist, Chairwoman of the Board of Directors of SERV,

served from 2005 to 2012 as full-time member of the city council (Finance Director) and deputy mayor of the city of Berne. She has many years of management and board of directors experience and proven knowledge in the field of finances. The business economist with EMBA degree is a self-employed management consultant and is active on various boards of directors of large and medium-sized companies.

Christoph Meier-Meier, business economist, Vice Chair of the Board of Directors of SERV,

is CEO and partner at NEWTAG Communication AG. Prior to this, he worked in various positions at Bühler AG in Uzwil (SG), including 10 years as Head of Financial Services.

Claudine Amstein, lawyer,

is an independent consultant. She was Director of the Chamber of Commerce and Industry of the Canton of Vaud (CVCI) for 17 years and has many years’ experience in trade associations at the cantonal as well as intercantonal level. She has held a number of political offices in her home canton and is also a board member of various institutions.

Claire-Anne Dysli Wermeille, lawyer,

is head of the legal department at Chiquita and the Group’s Corporate Secretary. She began her career at ABB and Alstom in Baden. After holding various positions in the legal department at Logitech, she worked for several watch manufacturers as a legal representative at the Swatch Group. Claire-Anne Dysli Wermeille has a degree in legal studies from the University of Geneva and a Master’s in Business Administration from the Zentrum für Unternehmensführung (ZfU).

Christian Etter, economist, Dr. rer. pol.,

was the Delegate of the Federal Council for Trade Agreements and member of SECO’s Board of Directors. As an ambassador, he headed the Special Foreign Economic Services Division (goods/services trade, non-tariff barriers to trade, investments, foreign trade legislation). He was the chief negotiator for free trade agreements with China, the Gulf states, Canada, South Korea, the South African Customs Union, Egypt and Tunisia, and he headed the Swiss delegation in the Joint Committee of the Switzerland-EU Free Trade Agreement.

Burkhard Huber, business economist,

has spent all his career in banking, 30 years of which with UBS in various functions. As a Product and Relationship Manager he was in charge of Swiss and foreign companies in commercial banking including export and trade finance. For the last 15 years, he acted as Relationship Manager for Swiss based global enterprises.

Peter Jenelten, Dipl. El. Ing. ETH,

was a member of the Group Executive Board of Stadler Rail AG from June 2000 to June 2019, and was responsible for sales and marketing. He previously held various managerial positions at ABB and Adtranz. He now holds several board mandates for SMEs in Switzerland and abroad.

Reto Wyss, economist,

has been Central Secretary at Schweizerischer Gewerkschaftsbund (Swiss Federation of Trade Unions) since 2017. Prior to that, he lived in Finland for six years and held different positions in the private sector. He represents the Swiss Federation of Trade Unions amongst others in the EFTA Consultative Committee, the Board of Directors of Reka and in the committee of Solidar Suisse.