Board of Directors

The Federal Council elects SERV’s Board of Directors for four-year terms. The Board of Directors appoints an Insurance Committee and a Finance and Organisation Committee from among its members. The committees analyse certain areas in depth and report to the Board of Directors in order to support its decision-making and supervisory work. Any vested interests of the members of the Board of Directors are published on the website of the Swiss government.

Thomas Daum, Chairman of the Board of Directors SERV,
was the Director of the Confederation of Swiss Employers until June 2013. Prior to that, he served as the Director of Swissmem. He is a member of the board of directors of Switzerland's AHV/IV/EO Funds. As an association director, he has served on various extra-parliamentary committees. He was a member of the ERG Commission before SERV was formed.

Barbara Hayoz, business economist, Vice Chairman of the Board of Directors of SERV,
served from 2005 to 2012 as full-time member of the city council (Finance Director) and deputy mayor of the city of Berne. She has many years of management and board of directors experience and proven knowledge in the field of finances. The business economist with EMBA degree is a self-employed management consultant and is active on various boards of directors of large and medium-sized companies.

Caroline Gueissaz, graduate engineer ETH, 
is an associate partner at Vaccani, Zweig & Associates, Management Consulting and M&A in Zurich. She is responsible for the courses for boards of directors and members of the administration at CRPM in Lausanne, managing director of the Business Angels Swiss in French-speaking Switzerland and FDP parliamentarian for the canton of Neuchâtel. She has been a member of the board of directors of various SMEs since 1998.

Burkhard Huber, business economist,
has spent all his career in banking, 30 years of which with UBS in various functions. As a Product and Relationship Manager he was in charge of Swiss and foreign companies in commercial banking including export and trade finance. For the last 15 years, he acted as Relationship Manager for Swiss based global enterprises.

Christoph Meier-Meier, business economist,
is CEO and partner at NEWTAG Communication AG. Prior to this, he worked in various positions at Bühler AG in Uzwil (SG), including 10 years as Head of Financial Services.

Anne-Sophie Spérisen, economist,
has been President and CEO at SOLO Swiss SA in Biel since 2011. She has extensive experience in the export industry in the United States and Switzerland. She is a member of the non-parliamentary commission SME Forum and a board member of the Chamber of Industry and Trade of the Canton of Jura. Anne-Sophie Spérisen holds a Master of Science of the University Neuchatel.

Reto Wyss, economist,
has been Central Secretary at Schweizerischer Gewerkschaftsbund (Swiss Federation of Trade Unions) since 2017. Prior to that, he lived in Finland for six years and held different positions in the private sector. He represents the Swiss Federation of Trade Unions amongst others in the EFTA Consultative Committee, the Board of Directors of Reka as well as the Federal Statistics Committee.

Urs Ziswiler, former Swiss ambassador, 
was the ambassador to the United States before being assigned to Spain until April 2013. Prior to that, he had been the Head of the Directorate of Political Affairs of the FDFA,the diplomatic advisor of Federal Councillor Calmy-Rey and the Director of the Political Affairs Division IV (Human Rights and Humanitarian Policy) of the FDFA. Urs Ziswiler studied law at the universities of Zurich and Geneva and obtained a post-graduate degree on developing countries from ETH Zurich.